Waukesha County .org

  Home | Clerk | Sheriff | Fire | Court | Community College | Schools | Library | History
Department of Health | Hospitals | Humane Society | Airport | Parks | Fair | Real Estate | Business Directory


Waukesha County is located in southeastern Wisconsin, directly west of Milwaukee County and 100 miles northwest of Chicago. The County covers 576 square miles and consists of 7 cities, 18 villages, and 12 towns. Waukesha County, One of Wisconsin's fastest growing counties has 360,767 residents with increase in population by 56,052 during the 1990's.

Waukesha County was created in 1846 from Milwaukee County, and is named for the Pottawatomi word "waugooshance" which means "little foxes." The county seat is Waukesha.

Waukesha County experiences a broad range of highs and lows in temperature and precipitation during the course of a year. Average daily high temperature range from a low of 24.3 degrees in January to a high of 82.6 degrees in July. The yearly average for precipitation is 30.9 inches. Average snowfall is 38.1 inches.

Neighboring counties to Waukesha county include Washington County , Ozaukee County , Milwaukee County, Racine County , Walworth County , Jefferson County, Dodge County.


©1997-2024 All Rights Reserved